Internship Journal: Week Two

Unfortunately due to the snow this week, I was unable to have my meeting with Eric Campbell (NPS) and Gary Crawford (Kernstown Battlefield Association) regarding my program on July 24th. However, this meeting has been rescheduled for Monday, February 3rd. The three of us will sit down and discuss some of the logistics for the program on The Battle of Second Kernstown during this time.

This weekend I covered one of my colleagues at the Visitor Contact Center while she visited South Carolina. Since it has been so bitterly cold, we have had little to no visitation. This is not good because we always want visitors to see the resources of the park, but on the other hand, this is positive. With the quietness at the park, I am able to start my in depth research and collection of sources to start to comprehensively understand the Second Battle of Kernstown. I took a look over the holdings at our park library, and gathered some books and articles to help give me some context on the battle and greater campaign. I still need to find  and narrow down the specific Official Reports from the campaign.

Some of the resources I was able to obtain

Some of the resources I was able to obtain

  • Cooling, Benjamin F. Jubal Early’s Raid on Washington 1864, (Baltimore: The Nautical and Aviation Publishing Company of America,1989).
  • Crook, George. General George Crook: His Autobiography, ed. Martin Schmitt (Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Press, 1960).
  • Early, Jubal A. Jubal Early’s Memoirs: Autobiographical Sketch and Narrative of the War Between the States. (Baltimore: The Nautical and Aviation Publishing Company of America 1989).
  •  Lepa, Jack H. The Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1864. (Jefferson: McFarland and Company, Inc. Publishers, 2003).
  • Patchan, Scott C. Shenandoah Summer: The 1864 Valley Campaign. (Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2007).
  • Noyalas, Jonathan A. 2003. “Early’s Costliest Victory: The Second Battle of Kernstown and Its Impact on Union Strategy in the Shenandoah Valley, 1864.” Winchester-Frederick County Historical Society Journal 15, 64-79.

Also, by using the JMU Library services I was able to come up with numerous articles pertaining to the battle. Some are on Inter library loan and should be arriving anytime.

  • Patchan, Scott C. 2012. “George Crook’s Tin Ear.” Civil War Times 51, no. 1: 50-55. Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost (accessed January 24, 2014).
  • Wert, Jeffery D. 1984. “The Old Killing Ground; The Second Battle of Kernstown, 1864.” The Civil War Time Illustrated 23, no. 8:40-47.
  • Magid, Paul. George Crook: From Redwoods to Appomattox.  (Oklahoma: University of Oklahoma Press, 2011).

As you can see, the majority of these are secondary accounts of the action at Kernstown. I want to get a good grasp of the context of the battle before I start to read primary accounts. The notes section of these works will help guide me to journals, letters and regimental histories in the future. I as also able to find a great map of the battle superimposed to a modern day map via Google books. The map was prepared by Historian Col. Joseph Whitehorne and found in a guide book on Civil War Battlefields.

By no means am I saying that my collection of materials is complete, but I like to think I am off to a good start. I will spend the upcoming time reading and studying these materials.

Finally, there is a new book on the fall portion of the 1864 Shenandoah Valley Campaign that just came out this week. Entitled, Bloody Autumn: The Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1864, historians Daniel T. Davis and Phillip S. Greenwalt examine Sheridan’s fall campaign in the Valley. However, the great part of this book is that it is not only a narrative of the history of the battles and campaign. It is also a very practical guide book. Readers can take this to the battlefields and use it as a self guided tour book, guiding them through some of the most pristine battlefields in the Valley. I encourage anyone interested, to purchase their book here. The books is also for sale at the Visitor Contact Station.

Bloody Autumn

If you look closely you will see my name in print

If you look closely you will see my name in print

I consulted Phillip during his research of the book, looking into the injury of Confederate Brig. Gen. Cullen Battle’s leg during the Battle of Cedar Creek. And, for the first time, I get to see my name in print! Thanks for the acknowledgement Phillip!

Hours Completed this week: 16

Total Hours: 21 Hours

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts

Leave a Reply

