Internship Journal: Week Seven

With midterms taking up most of my attention this past week, I was not able to commit as much time I would have wished to my ongoing research and internship. However, with that being said, I was able to iron out a few details and get the ball rolling on some other projects.

Firstly, Author Scott Patchan returned my email regarding primary sources on the battle. He gave me a list of online accessible sources such as, the memoirs of Hayes and Hastings. The material is easily accessible online through the Library of Congress. He said that there is a good amount of Union primary sources available, but not too much on the Confederate side. I am looking forward to the materials he said he would send me on Col. Mulligan that he has collected from Notre Dame. A good Confederate source he mentions was the memoir of Augustus Forsberg that is available through VMI or Washington and Lee. I plan on meeting with him in person next week on March 8th. I will be attending a conference he will be speaking at regarding the Civil War in the Shenandoah Valley during the spring and summer of 1864. I hope to pick his brain a little more about the battle.

Secondly, I have written a blurb to be used for promoting my program. This will be proofread by my supervisor, Eric Campbell before it will be sent out. However, we will post this on our website and send it out to other partners sties so they can promote the program as well. Also, as seen you will notice I have chosen a title for my program:

“The Most Easily Won Battle of the War”: The Second Battle of Kernstown, July 24th 1864

Join Ranger Kyle Rothemich at the Kernstown Battlefield on July 24th 2014, as he will be taking visitors on a special “On this Day” battlefield tour of the Second Battle of Kernstown. To commemorate the 150th Anniversary of the battle, Ranger Kyle will be leading a free 90 minute walking tour. He will take visitors through the same ground that was contested over exactly 150 years after the fact. This battle was the pinnacle of Confederate General Jubal Early’s successes in the Valley in 1864, and with his Confederate victory, ushered in a new Union commander in Philip Sheridan. With this appointment of Sheridan, the Confederates fate was sealed in the coming months. Meet Ranger Kyle at 4:00pm for this free program. After the program, the Kernstown Battlefield Association will be opening the Pritchard-Grim House, allowing visitors to get up close and personal with this beautiful mansion. Any questions, please contact Kyle at Kyle_Rothemich@nps.gov or call Cedar Creek and Belle Grove National Historical Park at 540-869-3051. 

Lastly, as I look forward to more 150th programs in the fall, my eyes fall upon October 17th. On this day I will be responsible for leading an interpretative hike to Signal Knob and doing interpretation up there for a couple of hours, as visitors hike up and down the peak. This peak was where the Confederates had a signal crew stationed before the battle of Cedar Creek. On October 17th, Early’s chief lieutenants hiked to the knob and reconnoitered the Union forces and developed their surprise attack. After talking to my co-worker, we came up with a great idea. Why don’t we try to get in touch with living historian who interpret signal corps and see if they would want to join me up there? This would draw in the public with the opportunity to see exactly how it was done, with people in period uniform. Not knowing where to start, I sent a message on Facebook to all of my fellow NPS colleagues, across Virginia. No doubt, within ten minutes my friend at Petersburg National Battlefield  put me in contact with his colleague from the Civil War Trust who does Signal Corp living history. So, I have contacted him to see if he would be interested in participating in this program.

Hours completed this week: 5

Total hours: 58

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts

Leave a Reply

