Turner Ashby Monument Podcast Tour

One of my many projects this semester is to put together a podcast walking tour of something in Harrisonburg. I decided to look at the Turner Ashby Monument. For this project, we had to record ourselves for the podcast, do some research on the site, and find historical photographs. My goal in this project was to not narrate the biography of Turner Ashby. Rather, I wanted to examine the role the monument had within the U.D.C and the local community in the 20th century.

The first place I went for my research was JMU Special Collections. One of the collections they house are the local U.D.C. chapter papers. The Turner Ashby Chapter was the organization that erected the monument in 1898. The collection contained historical photographs, transcripts of speeches, and newspaper clippings to name a few. These documents aided in my ability to frame my historical argument. I also referenced a blog. In this entry from 2011, the blogger voices concern over the lack of attention JMU was giving to battlefield presentation.

You can visit the site and listen to my podcast here.

Read my take on Turner Ashby from last year here. 

3 Comments

Filed under Sharing Scholarship

3 responses to “Turner Ashby Monument Podcast Tour

  1. Thanks for the extra info on Ashby. Just wondering if you’ve read any biographies on the commander… Would you recommend any books in particular? I’m very interested in the history of Ashby and his cavalry, but I’m finding it difficult to sort the facts from the romanticized legends. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    • I have heard that, Blood Image: Turner Ashby in the Civil War and the Southern Mind by Paul Christopher Anderson is worth a read. I have not read it myself. The History of the Laurel Brigade published shortly after the Civil War paints a highly romanticized version of Ashby and his men. James I. Robertson’s, Stonewall Jackson: The Man the Myth the Legend covers Ashby during the 1862 Valley Campaign nicely.

      I hope this helps!

      • Thanks for the info. I’ve read Robertson’s biography of Jackson and took a lot of notes about Ashby. I’ll have to look for “Blood Image” by Anderson. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

